Graduate Recruiting Expo banner

The Natural Sciences and Mathematics division consists of six departments: biological sciences, chemistry, geological sciences, geography, mathematics and physics and astronomy. They offer both master’s and doctoral programs. There are a total of 144 faculty members in the division whose research focuses in water, health, energy, materials, earth and environmental and computational sciences. The division’s external funding reached $8.2 million in the 2016 fiscal year, which is 39 percent of the college’s external funding. There are currently 10 faculty members in the division with NSF CAREER awards.

Natural Sciences and Mathematics Departments:

Biological Sciences

Chemistry and Biochemistry


Geological Sciences


Physics and Astronomy

Research Information and Activities